top of page

You Scratch My Back, I Won't Scratch Yours

The age old saying but with a twist, I wonder whether the market has lost all its manners. Instead of fulfilling a promise, I've seen too many companies asking for everything and giving very little in return.

I understand this as a demands vs needs issue. There are too many hopeful startups and fresh graduates that need to get themselves out there and are therefor all too willing to roll their sleeves up and do some harmless favours. But unfortunately, I don't see these favours as being paid off any time soon. Instead, they have developed into some shameless freebees.

What I don't understand is why have we not realised that we are far more productive working together rather than on opposite ends of the table?

With this question I like to use my own personal experience of creating mutual benefits via The Agency. This startup I founded whilst at university is my golden example of how everyone can benefit and add to their tool kit without losing out. University societies that lacked funding to advertise their events were given a huge boost from Graphic Design students who were craving any addition to their fledgling portfolios. And there we have it; mutual gains.

The world is already competitive enough - we need to stop jumping over each other to get to the top and start looking to help each other up.

You scratch my back, I'll scratch yours.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page